Lagos rewards teachers with 13 new cars

Thirteen teachers and school administrators were on Wednesday honored with brand new cars and other prizes, as Lagos State marked the 2021 Annual Teachers’ Merit Award.

The lucky winners were Adenike Ojo, Adeola Adefemi, Bolanle Alamu, Fausat Adegeye, Folashade Oyedeji, Lukman Agbabiaka and Michael Ayoola.

Others were Olubukola Dosumu, Olusegun Muftau, Oluseyi Amao, Omolayo Fadayomi, Soji Megbowon and Yahya Adesokan.

Speaking on the occasion, Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu said the teaching profession and education were critical to the society to be left in the lurch.

“Today has been an eventful day for me and the state. Earlier today, we inaugurated the Vetland Junior International School, Agege which is the first modular, digitized school in the country. Our focus on education is in line with our belief that education is the fulcrum that would ensure a better society. Today’s event is to promote merit and encourage healthy competition among our teachers

“When we held the first edition last year, some people thought it was a fluke. Last year we gave out salon cars but now we are giving out 13 brand new sport utility vehicles. Recognizing teachers is to help promote world class education in our state. I am happy to tell you that our huge investment in EkoEXCEL has been justified by the evaluation that was done.

“Over 15,000 teachers have been skilled up through local and international training. Also, our performance in the WAEC exam has improved. In 2020, we had 38.79%, but in 2021, we had 81% which is inclusive of credit passes in English and Mathematics. We are not expecting anything less this year.